Shi Mingzhe Distinguished Researcher

E-mail: mcshih@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Phone: (02) 2789-9403

Distinguished Researcher and Chairman of the Preparatory Committee of the Southern District of Academia Sinica, Bachelor of Biology, Donghai University (1976)
PhD in Genetics, University of Iowa (1978-1983)
Postdoctoral research in the Department of Genetics, Harvard University (1984-1988)
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, University of Iowa (1988-1994)
Associate Professor, Department of Biology, University of Iowa (1994-2003)
Director of the Center for Comparative Genomics, University of Iowa (2005-2007)
Professor, Department of Biology, University of Iowa (2003-2009)
Distinguished researcher and director of the Agricultural and Health Center of Academia Sinica (2008-2016)
Distinguished researcher and secretary-general of the Academia Sinica Agriculture and Health Center (2016-present)

Office: B208, Building B, Agricultural Science Building

Untitled-1.png

research direction

The molecular mechanism of Arabidopsis and rice hypoxia response The main goal of this project is to explore the molecular mechanism of plant response to hypoxia caused by flooding, with the hope that it can be used to improve the flooding resistance of crops in the future. In the recent research results of the laboratory, we found that the response of plants in the two stages of submergence hypoxia and reoxygenation are the critical periods that determine the tolerance of plants to hypoxia stress (Fig. 1 ), and further pointed out that ethylene is the two critical periods. The main message transmitter that controls gene expression and metabolism. Plants also induce a large number of expressions of the key transcription factor WRKY22 to prevent bacterial infection during flooding or after the flood recedes. On the other hand, we found through proteomics analysis that in the early stage of flooding and hypoxia, the protein-stimulated (SnRK1) phosphate chain reaction regulates hypoxia metabolism and protein translation of key hypoxia response genes.

201611011024510.gif

Fig. 1 Schematic of our studies in flooding stress.

Based on the above findings, the laboratory is in-depth analysis of the molecular mechanism of SnRK1 regulating protein translation and how ethylene regulates the metabolic flow during hypoxia and reoxygenation under the adversity of Arab mustard flooding (Fig. 2 ). In addition, we also conduct research on upstream molecules that can activate immune and disease-related gene expressions (such as WRKY22) at the initial stage of flooding and hypoxia. We have found that many gene mutations in the lectin receptor-like kinases (LecRKs) family affect the response of plants to disease resistance and flooding tolerance. In the future, we will further analyze whether LecRKs are receptors for the expression of genes that induce immune response under submerged water.

201611011028110.gif

Fig.2 Model of TCA cycle replenishment in response to reoxygenation

Sub1A1 is a known key flood resistance gene in rice. Its gene expression is regulated by flooding and belongs to the ethylene response factor VII (ERFVII) transcription factor family. The ERFVII family proteins all have N-degron (Met- Cys-Gly-Gly) sequence. In an aerobic environment, the protein with this sequence will be identified and degraded by the N-end rule pathway, which has the ability to sense oxygen concentration; in anoxic environment, the activity of the N-end rule pathway is inhibited, and the ERFVII protein accumulates steadily. However, Sub1A1 is currently the only known ERFVII transcription factor that has N-degron but is not degraded by the N-end rule pathway. On the other hand, we found two ERFVII transcription factors, ERF66 and ERF67, whose proteins were identified by N-end rule and their gene expression was regulated by Sub1A1 under submerged water. It shows that ERF66 and ERF67 proteins not only stably accumulate under submerged water, but also amplify the water-resistant response regulated by ERF66 and ERF67 through the transcriptional regulation of Sub1A. Combining the above findings, we propose a new flood tolerance regulation pathway for Sub1A, ERF66 and ERF67 through gene expression and N-end rule regulation. At present, we are exploring in depth how Sub1A protein is not regulated by N-end rule and the information pathway regulated by Sub1A-ERF66 / ERF67.

Construction of Taiwan Phalaenopsis Functional Gene Database and Research on Biotechnology

The main goal of this project is to establish a complete genome database of Taiwan Phalaenopsis aphrodite. Grandma from Taiwan is the breeding parent of the white Phalaenopsis with a high market share. We plan to use this genomic database combined with molecular biology breeding and gene transfer technology to create a new platform for orchid breeding. At present, our team has established high-quality Taiwanese grandmother genome sequence sketches and linkage maps through next-generation sequencing analysis, and combined BAC contig assembly and marker typing technology to establish high coverage and low error rates Draft of the genome sequence. The draft genome sequence that meets this standard is suitable for routine gene sequence analysis and search (Fig. 3 ).
On the other hand, we are now also constructing transcript and metabolite data for orchid flower pigments, fragrance synthesis and developmental regulation. It is hoped that this information can be used to select Phalaenopsis with a short growth cycle, different flower color and fragrance, and only a short period of low temperature to induce flowering.

201611011028310.jpg

Fig.3 Orchidstra 2.0

Biological pesticide development

Pseudomonas taiwanensis is a new type of soil bacteria of the genus Pseudomonas sieved from the soil in northern Taiwan and can grow on a medium using shrimp shell meal as a single carbon and nitrogen source. Desorption/ionization imaging mass spectrometry) and Tn5 mutation library analysis, we found that P. taiwanensis can release a new type of pyoverdine to inhibit ( Xoo ) growth via the Type 6 Secretion System (Fig. 4). In addition to resistance to rice bacterial blight, we also found antifungal compounds and insect-resistant proteins in P. taiwanensis and other soil microorganisms. In the future, we will develop P. taiwanensis and other microorganisms as sources of biopesticides and cooperate with biotech companies to conduct field trials in order to expand to practical agricultural applications.

201611011029050.gif

Fig.4 Schematic of the pyoverdine secretion pathways in P. taiwanensis .

施明哲 特聘研究員

E-mail: mcshih@gate.sinica.edu.tw
電話: (02) 2789-9403

特聘研究員兼中研院南部院區籌備委員會主任委員
東海大學生物系學士 (1976)
美國愛荷華大學遺傳博士 (1978-1983)
美國哈佛大學遺傳系博士後研究 (1984-1988)
美國愛荷華大學生物系助理教授 (1988-1994)
美國愛荷華大學生物系副教授 (1994-2003)
美國愛荷華大學比較基因體中心主任 (2005-2007)
美國愛荷華大學生物系教授 (2003-2009)
中央研究院農生中心特聘研究員兼主任 (2008-2016)
中央研究院農生中心特聘研究員兼中央研究院秘書長 (2016- 至今)

辦公室: 農科大樓B棟 B208

Untitled-1.png

研究方向

阿拉伯芥及水稻缺氧反應的分子機制
本計畫之主要目標是探討植物對淹水所造成的缺氧之反應的分子機制,以期將來能應用於改良農作物之淹水抗性。在實驗室近期的研究成果中,我們發現植物在淹水缺氧及復氧兩階段的反應皆為決定植物耐受缺氧逆境的關鍵時期 ( Fig. 1 ),並進一步指出乙烯是兩關鍵時期控制基因表現及代謝的主要訊息傳遞者。植物亦誘導關鍵轉錄因子 WRKY22 大量表現,以預防在淹水期間或洪水退去後的病菌感染。另一方面,我們藉由蛋白質體學分析發現淹水缺氧初期,蛋白激 (SnRK1)磷酸串連反應調控缺氧代謝及關鍵缺氧反應基因的蛋白轉譯。

201611011024510.gif

Fig.1 Schematic of our studies in flooding stress.

根據以上的發現,實驗室正深入分析阿拉伯芥淹水逆境下, SnRK1 調控蛋白轉譯的分子機制及乙烯如何調節缺氧與復氧時期的代謝流向 ( Fig. 2 )。除此之外,我們也針對在淹水缺氧初期能活化免疫抗病相關基因表現 (如 WRKY22 )的上游分子進行研究。我們發現許多 lectin receptor-like kinases  ( LecRKs ) 家族的基因突變影響了植物抗病及耐淹水的反應,未來將深入分析LecRKs 是否為淹水下誘導免疫反應基因表現的受體。

201611011028110.gif

Fig.2 Model of TCA cycle replenishment in response to reoxygenation

Sub1A1 是已知的水稻關鍵淹水抗性基因,其基因表現受淹水調控並屬於 ethylene response factor VII  ( ERFVII ) 轉錄因子家族, ERFVII 家族蛋白在其蛋白序列 N 端都具有 N-degron  ( Met-Cys-Gly-Gly ) 序列。在有氧的環境下,有這段序列的蛋白會被具感應氧氣濃度能力的 N-end rule 路徑辨識降解; 在缺氧環境下, N-end rule 路徑活性被抑制, ERFVII 蛋白則穩定累積。但 Sub1A1 是目前唯一已知的具有 N-degron  卻不被 N-end rule 路徑降解的 ERFVII 轉錄因子。另一方面,我們發現兩個 ERFVII  轉錄因子, ERF66  和  ERF67 ,其蛋白被 N-end rule 辨識且基因表現在淹水下受  Sub1A1  調控。顯示淹水下, ERF66 和  ERF67  蛋白不僅穩定累積,還藉由 Sub1A 的轉錄調控放大 ERF66  和  ERF67 調控的耐淹水反應。總合以上的發現,我們提出 Sub1A , ERF66  和  ERF67 三者經由基因表現及 N-end rule 調節的新耐淹水調控路徑。目前,我們正深入探討 Sub1A 蛋白如何不受 N-end rule 調控及藉  Sub1A - ERF66  / ERF67 調控的訊息路徑。

臺灣蝴蝶蘭功能性基因資料庫建構與生物技術研究

此計畫的主要目標是建立一個完整的台灣蝴蝶蘭台灣阿嬤 Phalaenopsis aphrodite  的基因體資料庫。台灣阿嬤是高市佔率的白色蝴蝶蘭之繁殖親本。我們計畫運用此基因體資料庫結合分子生物育種以及基因轉殖技術創建蘭花育種的新平台。 目前,我們團隊已藉由次世代定序分析組建高品質的台灣阿嬤基因體序列草圖以及其連鎖圖譜,並且結合  BAC contig assembly 以及標記分型   ( Marker typing ) 技術建立高覆蓋率,低錯誤率的基因體序列草圖。達此標準的基因體序列草圖才適用於常規基因序列分析及搜尋 ( Fig. 3 )。
另一方面,我們現在亦針對蘭花花卉色素,香味合成及發育調控建構轉錄體及代謝體資料。希望可以藉由這些資訊選拔出具短生長週期,不同花色香味以及僅需短時間低溫誘導開花的蝴蝶蘭。 

201611011028310.jpg

Fig.3 Orchidstra 2.0

生物農藥開發

Pseudomonas taiwanensis 是從台灣北部土壤中篩出,能生長於以蝦殼粉做單一碳源及氮源培養基的新型假單胞菌屬土壤菌, 藉由基因體學、影像質譜儀 (matrix-assisted laser desorption/ionization imaging mass spectrometry )及 Tn5  突變庫分析,我們發現 P. taiwanensis 能經由第六型分泌系統  (Type 6 Secretion System) 釋出新型 pyoverdine 抑制 (Xoo) 生長  (Fig. 4)。除了抗水稻白葉枯病,我們亦在 P. taiwanensis 跟其他土壤微生物發現抗真菌化合物以及抗蟲的蛋白。未來,我們將開發P. taiwanensis 及其他微生物作為生物農藥的來源並與生技公司合作進行田間試驗,以期能拓展至實際農業應用。

201611011029050.gif

Fig.4 Schematic of the pyoverdine secretion pathways in P. taiwanensis.