Assistant Professor He Mingyang

E-mail: mingyang@ntu.edu.tw
Phone: (02) 3366-4534
Expertise: Photosynthesis, Blue-green Bacteria, Microbiology Education: PhD, Penn State University, USA

Laboratory: Room 617, Life Science Building​ (Blue-green Bacteria Photosynthesis Laboratory)

Welcome students or graduates who are interested in blue-green bacteria or photosynthesis to join our team, where you can learn the techniques of microbes, molecular biology and biochemistry. We will actually take and cultivate microbial samples in the field. Students who are curious about the operation of the laboratory and doing research in the university department are welcome to send me a letter to make an appointment for discussion.
何銘洋_網頁照片.png

Research topics in recent years

We are studying the diversity, mechanism, and application of blue-green bacteria in the environment. We are also very interested in the special physiological and biochemical conditions and application value of blue-green bacteria in extreme environments.

Introduction to the laboratory

Blue-green bacteria are the oldest known species that can produce oxygen through photosynthesis. It appeared about 3.5 billion years ago. It is very likely that it was the culprit that caused the Great Oxygenation Event 2.4 billion years ago and caused a large number of deaths of anaerobic bacteria. , But also created the subsequent biological energy to use oxygen for respiration and the emergence of eukaryotic multi-cells. Today’s complex species diversity is really thanks to the small blue-green bacteria that produced oxygen in the ocean at the beginning!


Scientists' research on blue-green bacteria ranges from basic research to application level, which can be said to be very diverse. I hope that during my time at the Institute of Plant Science, I can discuss three topics in depth: (1) the role of blue-green bacteria in the ecosystem (2) the mechanism of far-red photosynthesis (3) the application value of blue-green bacteria.


Blue-green bacteria grow in a wide range, from the ocean to the land, and even in extreme climates such as deserts, hot springs and Antarctica, they can be found. Taiwan’s geographic environment, including humidity and temperature, are suitable for the growth of blue-green bacteria in the terrestrial ecosystem, and because of the isolation of the ocean, the blue-green bacteria in the land’s freshwater are very likely to evolve unique traits, and Taiwan has hot springs Special environments such as places are excellent places to study blue-green bacteria in the environment. I hope that in these geographical environments in Taiwan, we can combine metagenomics, strain isolation, and physiological growth analysis to study the strategies and methods of blue-green bacteria in these environments to adapt to the environment.


Far-red light is an important energy in sunlight, but few species can use far-red light to produce oxygen through photosynthesis, and the blue-green bacteria we studied is one of them. People have not believed that far-red light can catalyze photosynthesis to release oxygen. Our purpose is to let the public understand the productivity and importance of Far Hongguang in the environment, and then re-evaluate the global primary productivity. In addition to the study of promoters regulated by far-red light, which can provide a tool for synthetic biology, clarifying the ability of blue-green bacteria to use far-infrared light is more helpful to maintain the efficiency of photosynthesis in the absence of visible light in the bioreactor. Increase the output of synthetic biomass energy or high-priced products. Our ultimate goal is to transfer the system that uses far-red light to crop crops to help them absorb more light under mutual shading, thereby increasing the efficiency and yield of photosynthesis.


background knowledge

When it is difficult to receive visible light, the use of far-red light for photosynthesis is a very important mechanism for blue-green bacteria.


Some blue-green bacteria can use far-red light for photosynthesis to release oxygen when there is insufficient visible light. This mechanism is called far-red light conversion (FaRLiP). Far-red light conversion will produce chlorophyll d and chlorophyll f, and modify photosynthetic system one, photosynthetic system two and phycobiliprotein bodies to absorb far-red light. These genes form a far-red light gene cluster, and their performance is regulated by the photosensitizers RfpA, RfpC, and the transcription factor RfpB.

何銘洋_圖一.png
Figure 1. Chlorophyll d and f can help some blue-green bacteria absorb sunlight and perform photosynthesis in wavelengths other than visible light
何銘洋_圖二.png
Figure 2. Regulation mechanism of FaRLiP
(modified from Ho et al., 2017 representative work 8).
何銘洋_圖三.png
Figure 3. FaRLiP gene clusters are found in the taxonomic groups of five blue-green bacteria (modified from Gan et al., 2014).

Gan, F., Zhang, S., Rockwell, NC, Martin, SS, Lagarias, JC, and Bryant, DA (2014) Extensive remodeling of a cyanobacterial photosynthetic apparatus in far-red light. Science 345 , 1312-1317

Representative works

  1. Rahmatpour, N, Hauser, DA, Nelson, JM, Chen, PY, Villarreal, AJ, Ho, MY , and Li, FW (2021). A novel thylakoid-less isolate fills a billion-year gap in the evolution of Cyanobacteria. Curr Biol. ( link )

  2. Tros M, Bersanini L, Shen G, Ho MY , Stokkum IHM, Bryant DA, Croce R. (2020) Harvesting far-red light: Functional integration of chlorophyll f into Photosystem I complexes of Synechococcus sp. PCC 7002. Biochim. Biophys. Acta. doi: 10.1016/j.bbabio.2020.148206 ( link )

  3. Gisriel C, Shen G, Kurashov V, Ho MY , Zhang S, Williams D, Golbeck JH, Fromme P, Bryant DA. (2020) Structure of photosystem I acclimated to far-red light. Sci. Adv. 6, eaay6415. ( link )

  4. Bryant DA, Shen G, Turner GM, Soulier N, Laremore TN, Ho MY . (2020) Far-red light allophycocyanin subunits play a role in chlorophyll d accumulation in far-red light. Photosynth. Res. 143 , 81-95

  5. Ho MY , Niedzwiedzki DM, MacGregor-Chatwin C, Gerstenecker G, Hunter CN, Blankenship RE, and Bryant DA. (2019) Extensive remodeling of the photosynthetic apparatus alters energy transfer among photosynthetic complexes when cyanobacteria acclimate to far-red light. Biochim. Biophys. Acta. doi: 10.1016/j.bbabio.2019.148064

  6. Ho MY and Bryant DA. (2019) Global transcriptional profiling of the cyanobacterium Chlorogloeopsis fritschii PCC 9212 in far-red light: insights into the regulation of chlorophyll d synthesis. Front. Microbiol. 10 , 465. doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2019.00465

  7. Kourashov V, Ho MY , Shen G, Piedl K, Laremore TN, Bryant DA, and Golbeck JH. (2019) Energy transfer from chlorophyll f to the trapping center in naturally-occurring and engineered Photosystem I complexes. Photosynth. Res. 141 , 151-163

  8. Shen G, Canniffe DP, Ho MY , Kurashov V, Golbeck JH, and Bryant DA. (2019) Characterization of chlorophyll f synthase heterologously produced in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7002. Photosynth. Res. 140 , 77-92

  9. Ho MY* , Soulier NT*, Canniffe DP, Shen G, and Bryant DA. (2017) Light regulation of pigment and photosystem biosynthesis in cyanobacteria. Curr. Opin. Plant. Biol. 37 , 24-33. (*co-first author)

  10. Ho MY , Gan F, Shen G, Zhao C, and Bryant DA. (2017) Far-red light photoacclimation (FaRLiP) in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7335: I. Regulation of FaRLiP gene expression. Photosynth. Res. 131 , 173- 186.

  11. Ho MY , Gan F, Shen G, and Bryant DA. (2017) Far-red light photoacclimation (FaRLiP) in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7335: II. Characterization of phycobiliproteins produced during acclimation to far-red light. Photosynth. Res. 131 , 187-202.

  12. Ho MY , Shen G, Canniffe DP, Zhao C, Bryant DA. (2016) Light-dependent chlorophyll f synthase is a highly divergent paralog of PsbA of Photosystem II. Science 353 , aaf9178.

  13. Hung CH, Ho MY , Kanehara K, and Nakamura Y. (2013) Functional study of diacylglycerol acyltransferase type 2 family in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. FEBS Lett. 587 , 2364-2370.

何銘洋 助理教授

E-mail: mingyang@ntu.edu.tw
電話: (02) 3366-4534
專長: 光合作用、藍綠菌、微生物學
學歷: 美國賓州州立大學博士

研究室: 生命科學館617室​ (藍綠菌光合作用實驗室)

歡迎對藍綠菌或光合作用有興趣的學生或畢業生加入我們的團隊,在這裡你可以學到微生物、分子生物和生物化學的技術。我們也會實際到野外採取並培養微生物樣本。大學部對實驗室運行和做研究感到好奇的同學,也歡迎寄信給我約時間討論。

近年研究主題

我們在研究藍綠菌在環境中的多樣性、機制,及應用。我們也對在極端環境下的藍綠菌其特殊的生理生化條件和應用價值很感興趣。

研究室簡介

藍綠菌是現存已知最古老可行光合作用產生氧氣的物種,大約35億年前出現,很有可能是24億年前造成大氧化事件 (Great Oxygenation Event) 的元兇,造成厭氧細菌大量死亡,但也造就之後的生物能利用氧氣行呼吸作用和真核多細胞的出現。現今繁複的物種多樣性,還真的要感謝當初這些海洋中小小的產生氧氣的藍綠菌呢!


科學家對於藍綠菌的研究從基礎研究到應用層面上都有,可說是非常多元。我希望在植物科學研究所的期間可以針對三個主題深入探討:(1) 藍綠菌在生態系中扮演的角色 (2) 遠紅光光合作用的機制 (3) 藍綠菌的應用價值。


藍綠菌的生長範圍很廣,從海洋一直到陸地,甚至是極端氣候諸如沙漠,溫泉和南極,都可以找到他們的蹤跡。台灣的地理環境包括濕度和溫度都很適合陸域生態系中的藍綠菌生長,並且因為海洋的隔離,陸域淡水的藍綠菌極有可能演化出特有性狀,再加上台灣具有溫泉濕地等特殊環境,是絕佳研究環境中藍綠菌的場所。我希望可以在台灣的這些地理環境中,結合metagenomics, 菌種分離,和生理生長分析,研究這些環境中的藍綠菌適應環境的策略方法。


遠紅光是太陽光中重要的能量,卻少有物種可以利用遠紅光行光合作用產生氧氣,而我們研究的藍綠菌正是其中之一。人們一直以來不認為遠紅光可以催化光合作用放出氧氣。我們的目的為讓大眾了解遠紅光在環境下的生產力和重要性,進而重新評估全球初級生產力。除了研究遠紅光調控之啟動子可提供一個合成生物學的工具之外,釐清藍綠菌利用遠紅外光的能力更有助於在生物反應器中缺乏可見光的條件下維持光合作用的效率,提升合成生質能或高價產物的產量。我們的最終目標為把利用遠紅光的系統轉移到榖類作物,幫助它們在互相遮蔭的情況下吸收更多的光,進而增加光合作用效率和產量。


背景知識

在不容易接收到可見光的情況下,利用遠紅光行光合作用對藍綠菌是一個很重要的機制。


有些藍綠菌在可見光不足時能利用遠紅光行光合作用放出氧氣。這個機制稱為遠紅光轉換 (FaRLiP)。遠紅光轉換會產生葉綠素d和葉綠素f,並改裝光合系統一、光合系統二和藻膽蛋白體來吸收遠紅光。這些基因形成一個遠紅光基因簇,他們的表現被光敏素RfpA、RfpC,和轉錄因子RfpB所調控。

Figure 1. 葉綠素 d 和 f 可以幫助一些藍綠菌吸收太陽光中可見光外的波段行光合作用
Figure 2. FaRLiP的調控機制
(modified from Ho et al., 2017 代表著作8).
Figure 3. FaRLiP 基因簇在五個藍綠菌的taxonomic groups中皆有發現 (modified from Gan et al., 2014).

Gan, F., Zhang, S., Rockwell, N. C., Martin, S. S., Lagarias, J. C., and Bryant, D. A. (2014) Extensive remodeling of a cyanobacterial photosynthetic apparatus in far-red light. Science 345, 1312-1317

代表著作 

  1. Tros M, Bersanini L, Shen G, Ho M-Y, Stokkum IHM, Bryant DA, Croce R. (2020) Harvesting far-red light: Functional integration of chlorophyll f into Photosystem I complexes of Synechococcus sp. PCC 7002. Biochim. Biophys. Acta. doi: 10.1016/j.bbabio.2020.148206 (link)

  2. Gisriel C, Shen G, Kurashov V, Ho M-Y, Zhang S, Williams D, Golbeck JH, Fromme P, Bryant DA. (2020) Structure of photosystem I acclimated to far-red light. Sci. Adv. 6, eaay6415. (link)

  3. Bryant DA, Shen G, Turner GM, Soulier N, Laremore TN, Ho M-Y. (2020) Far-red light allophycocyanin subunits play a role in chlorophyll d accumulation in far-red light. Photosynth. Res. 143, 81-95

  4. Ho M-Y, Niedzwiedzki DM, MacGregor-Chatwin C, Gerstenecker G, Hunter CN, Blankenship RE, and Bryant DA. (2019) Extensive remodeling of the photosynthetic apparatus alters energy transfer among photosynthetic complexes when cyanobacteria acclimate to far-red light. Biochim. Biophys. Acta. doi: 10.1016/j.bbabio.2019.148064

  5. Ho M-Y and Bryant DA. (2019) Global transcriptional profiling of the cyanobacterium Chlorogloeopsis fritschii PCC 9212 in far-red light: insights into the regulation of chlorophyll d synthesis. Front. Microbiol. 10, 465. doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2019.00465

  6. Kourashov V, Ho M-Y, Shen G, Piedl K, Laremore TN, Bryant DA, and Golbeck JH. (2019) Energy transfer from chlorophyll f to the trapping center in naturally-occurring and engineered Photosystem I complexes. Photosynth. Res. 141, 151-163

  7. Shen G, Canniffe DP, Ho M-Y, Kurashov V, Golbeck JH, and Bryant DA. (2019) Characterization of chlorophyll f synthase heterologously produced in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7002. Photosynth. Res. 140, 77-92

  8. Ho M-Y*, Soulier NT*, Canniffe DP, Shen G, and Bryant DA. (2017) Light regulation of pigment and photosystem biosynthesis in cyanobacteria. Curr. Opin. Plant. Biol. 37, 24-33. (*co-first author)

  9. Ho M-Y, Gan F, Shen G, Zhao C, and Bryant DA. (2017) Far-red light photoacclimation (FaRLiP) in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7335: I. Regulation of FaRLiP gene expression. Photosynth. Res. 131, 173-186.

  10. Ho M-Y, Gan F, Shen G, and Bryant DA. (2017) Far-red light photoacclimation (FaRLiP) in Synechococcus sp. PCC 7335: II. Characterization of phycobiliproteins produced during acclimation to far-red light. Photosynth. Res. 131, 187-202.

  11. Ho M-Y, Shen G, Canniffe DP, Zhao C, Bryant DA. (2016) Light-dependent chlorophyll f synthase is a highly divergent paralog of PsbA of Photosystem II. Science 353, aaf9178.

  12. Hung C-H, Ho M-Y, Kanehara K, and Nakamura Y. (2013) Functional study of diacylglycerol acyltransferase type 2 family in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. FEBS Lett. 587, 2364-2370.

國立臺灣大學植物科學研究所 National Taiwan University Institute of Plant Biology

+886-2-3366-2525~6    ntuplant@ntu.edu.tw

地址: 10617 臺北市大安區羅斯福路四段 1 號   臺大生命科學館 307 室

address: Room 307, Life Science Building, NTU. No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd., Taipei, Taiwan 10617